Here is your resource guide for getting your license along with information of where to go to if you live in Gwinnett. We’ll also throw in some handy dandy information of potential savings you (parents) could get as your child begins driving.
In Georgia, you can get your drivers permit when you are 15 years old.
Drivers Permit (instructional permit): Allows holder to practice driving with an adult who is 21 years or older that holds an unexpired license.
In order to get your driver’s permit, you need to pass the written exam as well as have an vision exam. The written Exam is composed of 2 parts: road signs test and the road rules test. These tests are important in making sure the perspective driver understands all rules and signs. The Georgia Drivers Manual is located on the side bar under resources. This is a helpful resource for new drivers as they practice for the written test. There is also a link to the practice test on the DDS site.
Once you have your drivers permit you are only allowed to drive with an adult who is 21 years or older that holds an unexpired license. You must hold this license for a period of 12 months before applying for your class D driver’s license
Class D (intermediate license): Allows holder to drive without an accompany adult. Holder is restricted from driving between the hours of 12am (midnight) and 5am. There are three stages of the class D license.
In order to get the class D license the driver must successfully pass the road test with a minimum of a score of 75%. In addition, if you are 16 years old at the time of applying for your class D licenses you must take a 30 hour driving instruction course that is approved by DDS. In addition, you must log at least 40 hours of driving with an adult and a minimum of 6 hours needs to be at night. If you are 17 years old at the time of applying for your class D license then you do not have to take the 30 hour driving instruction course, but you must have practiced a minimum of 40 hours with an experienced driver and have a minimum of 6 hours driving experience at night.
Class C licenses: Full licenses that allows holder to drive at any time with no restriction on passengers.
You can receive your class C license when you turn 18. In order to receive this license you must have not violated traffic law and gotten more than 4 points on your driver’s licenses.
Money Savings for Parents with New Drivers
Did you know that you may be eligible for a tax credit when you have a dependent who becomes new driver who takes the driving educational course? You can get up to a $150 tax credit! Your child just needs to register for a privately-owned driving educational course that is approved by DDS. Driving class taken at public or privet high schools or online driving schools do not count for this tax credit. You’ll have to submit proof of drivers course by way of submitting a receipt plus the Certificate of Completion. Your tax credit will be equal to the cost of the class or up to $150, whichever is less.
In addition, by taking either a drivers education course or a 6 hour driving lesson with a DDS approved school, you may qualify for discounts in insurance. Insurance rates tend to be high for new teen drivers. Check with your insurance company to see if they offer discounts for taking driver education classes or by taking a 6 hour driving lesson.
Abbi’s Driving School offers 6 hour driving lessons in which you are awarded a Certificate of Completion afterwards which you can show to your insurance company. Abbi’s Driving School is approved by DDS.
Gwinnett County DMV locations:
2845 Lenora Church Rd
Snellville, GA 30078
310 Hurricane Shoals
Lawrenceville, GA 30046
750 S. Perry St.
Lawrenceville, GA 30046
2735 Mall of Georgia Blvd.
Buford, GA 30519
2211 Beaver Ruin Road
Norcross, GA 30071
5030 Georgia Belle Court
Norcorss, GA 30093
6135 Peachtree Parkway
Norcross, GA 30092
To recap: What you have to do to get drivers license at varying ages
16 years old: